Menu Close

What are two differences between ICD-9-CM and ICD-10-CM?

What are two differences between ICD-9-CM and ICD-10-CM?

ICD-9-CM codes are very different than ICD-10-CM/PCS code sets: There are nearly 19 times as many procedure codes in ICD-10-PCS than in ICD-9-CM volume 3. There are nearly 5 times as many diagnosis codes in ICD-10-CM than in ICD-9-CM. ICD-10 has alphanumeric categories instead of numeric ones.

What are the components of ICD-10-CM?

The ICD-10 manual begins with “ICD-10-CM Official Guidelines for Coding and Reporting” and is then divided into two main parts: first, the alphabetic index of terms with corresponding codes (subdivided into an index of diseases and injuries, an index of external causes, and tables of drugs and neoplasms) and second.

What is the ICD-9-CM tabular list of diseases?

The ICD-9-CM consists of: a tabular list containing a numerical list of the disease code numbers in tabular form; an alphabetical index to the disease entries; and. a classification system for surgical, diagnostic, and therapeutic procedures (alphabetic index and tabular list).

What is the difference between ICD-9 and ICD-10?

ICD-10 emphasis on modern technology devices being used for various procedures, while ICD-9 codes are unable to reflect the use of modern day equipment. Hence, the basic structural difference is that ICD-9 is a 3-5 character numeric code while the ICD-10 is a 3-7 character alphanumeric code.

What countries use ICD-10-CM?

National adoptions

  • Australia. Introduced in 1998, ICD-10 Australian Modification (ICD-10-AM) was developed by the National Centre for Classification in Health at the University of Sydney.
  • Brazil. Brazil introduced ICD-10 in 1996.
  • Canada.
  • China.
  • Czech Republic.
  • France.
  • Germany.
  • Hungary.

How many characters are possible in an ICD-10-CM code?

seven characters
Codes in the ICD-10-CM code set can have anywhere from three to seven characters. The more characters there are, the more specific the diagnosis. The first character is always alpha (i.e., a letter), but characters two through seven can be either alpha or numeric.

How many chapters are included in the ICD-10-CM?

21 chapters
ICD-10-CM is the diagnosis code set, which now has 21 chapters and contains some new conventions that guide code assignment. Diagnosis codes are to be used and reported at their highest number of characters available. They are composed of codes with 3, 4, 5, 6, or 7 characters.


ICD-9-CM is the US clinical modification of the WHO ICD-9*, the Ninth revision of the International Classification of Diseases. Given that ICD-9 was originally designed to classify causes of death, i.e. for mortality statistics, ICD-9-CM expanded its scope to include non-fatal diseases, i.e. morbidity.

What does ICD-10 CM stand for?

International Classification of Diseases, Tenth Revision
International Classification of Diseases, Tenth Revision, Clinical Modification (ICD-10-CM)

What are the three sections of the ICD-9-CM and what is each section used for?

The main division in the ICD-9-CM; they are divided into sections (3) Endocrine, Nutritional and Metabolic Diseases, and Immunity Disorders. Composed of a group of three-digit categories representing a group of conditions or related conditions; they are divided into categories.

What is the ICD-10-CM used for?

The ICD-10-CM is a morbidity classification published by the United States for classifying diagnoses and reason for visits in all health care settings. The ICD-10-CM is based on the ICD-10, the statistical classification of disease published by the World Health Organization (WHO).

Is ICD-10-CM used around the world?

Not only is ICD-10 being used in more than 100 countries, but many have been using it for more than a decade. Even though many of these countries have very different healthcare systems from the United States, much can be learned from their respective transitions to ICD-10.

How many tabs do you put on an ICD-9?

Basically, tab it the same way you would your ICD-9 book: Index-1 tab per letter. Tabular – 1 tab per letter. For M, S, & T, these are large sections, so put 2-3 tabs evenly spaced throughout the section. I also like to put tabs on the Neoplasm table, Table of drugs & chemicals, and the External cause index, and the OGCR.

What are the components of an ICD 9 cm code?

Components of an ICD-9-CM Code. It requires more digits, meaning that more information is required to make this code understandable. 402.0 is malignant hypertensive heart disease, but even that extra digit is not enough to make a billable code. ICD-9-CM requires the utmost available specificity to make a diagnosis code understandable.

When to use ICD-9-CM Volume 3?

A related classification, the International Classification of Diseases, Clinical Modification (ICD-9-CM), is used in assigning codes to diagnoses associated with inpatient, outpatient, and physician office utilization in the U.S. Volume 3 (procedures) is used in assigning codes associated with inpatient procedures.

When was the ICD 9 cm code set released?

Draft code sets and guidelines have been released in 2002, 2007, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, and the current version for 2013. The current ICD-9-CM system consists of ∼13,000 codes and is running out of numbers. The new ICD-10-CM system is expanding to ∼68,000 codes and has flexibility for expansion.