Menu Close

What are examples of developmental tasks?

What are examples of developmental tasks?

Developmental tasks during midlife relate to, for example, achieving adult responsibilities, maintaining a standard of living, assisting children with the transition into adulthood, and adjusting to the physiological changes of middle age (e.g., menopause).

What is development task and education?

“A developmental task is a task which arises at or about a certain period of life of the individual, successful achievement of which leads to his happiness and to success with later tasks, while failure leads to unhappiness in the individual, disapproval by the society, and difficulty with later tasks.”

What is developmental task theory?

In developmental task theory, Havighurst (1972) identified six age-specific life stages covering birth to old age, each with a discrete set of developmental tasks. For Havighurst, developmental tasks derived from physical maturation, personal values and the pressures of society.

What is the significance of developmental task?

A developmental task represents our culture’s definition of “normal” development at different points in the life span. By understanding the developmental tasks that adolescents face, parents and adults become better equipped to support adolescents as they strive to accomplish these tasks.

What are the stages of developmental task?

Havighurst’s developmental task model includes six stages of life: infancy and early childhood from birth to age 5, middle childhood between ages 6 and 12, adolescence between ages 13 and 18, early adulthood between ages 19 and 30, middle adulthood from age 30 to age 60, and later maturity, which is after age 60.

What are developmental tasks of adolescence?

During adolescence young people will negotiate puberty and the completion of growth, take on sexually dimorphic body shape, develop new cognitive skills (including abstract thinking capacities), develop a clearer sense of personal and sexual identity, and develop a degree of emotional, personal, and financial …

What are the development tasks according to developmental stage of adolescence?

What are the stages of development and developmental task?


  • Prenatal Period (from conception to birth)
  • Infancy (from birth to 18-24 months)
  • Early Childhood (end of infancy to 5-6 years)
  • 4 Middle and late childhood (6-11 years of age)
  • Adolescence (10-12 years ending up to 18-22 years of age)

What is developmental task according to havighurst?

R.H. havighhurst (1953) has stated: “a development task is a task which arise at or about a certain period in the life of the individual, successful achievement of which leads to his happiness and to success with later tasks, while failure leads to unhappiness and difficulty with later task.

What are the 7 stages of development?

There are seven stages a human moves through during his or her life span. These stages include infancy, early childhood, middle childhood, adolescence, early adulthood, middle adulthood and old age.

What are the 5 developmental stages?

The five stages of child development include the newborn, infant, toddler, preschool and school-age stages. Children undergo various changes in terms of physical, speech, intellectual and cognitive development gradually until adolescence. Specific changes occur at specific ages of life.

What are the stages of development and their developmental task?

There are three broad stages of development: early childhood, middle childhood, and adolescence. They are defined by the primary tasks of development in each stage.

A developmental task is a skill that needs to be acquired at a particular stage in life in order for development to continue. The major developmental tasks are physical, motor or cognitive skills that are considered vital to physical and mental health.

What is the development task of a teenager?

Psychosocial Development. A n adolescent has four tasks to accomplish to become a well-adjusted adult. These tasks are categorized as: 1) independence , 2) body image, 3) peer relations , and 4) identity . Adolescence is divided into three periods; early (ages 12-14), middle (ages 15-17) and late (ages 18-21). Some teens will develop faster in one task than others.

What is the Havighurst developmental task?

Selecting a mate

  • Achieving a masculine or feminine social role
  • Learning to live with a marriage partner
  • Starting a family
  • Rearing children
  • Managing a home
  • Getting started in an occupation
  • Taking on civic responsibility
  • Finding a congenial social group