Menu Close

What are some of the core capabilities that support the missions and objectives mentioned in the strategy for homeland defense?

What are some of the core capabilities that support the missions and objectives mentioned in the strategy for homeland defense?

Three core capabilities span all five mission areas: Planning, Public Information and Warning, and Operational Coordination. These common core capabilities serve to unify the mission areas and, in many ways, are necessary for the success of the remaining core capabilities.

What are the primary tasks and missions of DSCA operations?

DSCA includes support to prepare, prevent, protect, respond, and recover from domestic incidents. DSCA is provided in response to requests from civil authorities and upon approval from Page 12 Executive Summary x JP 3-28 appropriate authorities. DSCA is conducted only in the US homeland.

What are some of the roles of the military in civil support?

The Secretary of Defense shall provide military support to civil authorities for domestic incidents as directed by the President or when consistent with military readiness and appropriate under the circumstances and the law. The Secretary of Defense shall retain command of military forces providing civil support.

What is DSCA mission?

DSCA’s mission is to advance U.S. national security and foreign policy interests by building the capacity of foreign security forces to respond to shared challenges. DSCA leads the broader U.S. security cooperation enterprise in its efforts to train, educate, advise, and equip foreign partners.

Which of the following are characteristics of the core capabilities?

The core capabilities are:

  • Distinct critical elements necessary to achieve the National Preparedness Goal.
  • Essential for the execution of each mission area: Prevention, Protection, Mitigation, Response, and Recovery.
  • Developed and sustained through the combined efforts of the whole community.

What are the response core capabilities?

1 The Response mission area includes 15 core capabilities: planning; public information and warning; operational coordination; critical transportation; environmental response/health and safety; fatality management services; fire management and suppression; infrastructure systems; logistics and supply chain management; …

What are the military roles in homeland defense and civil support missions?

By law, DOD is responsible for two missions in the homeland: DSCA and HD. HD is the protection of US sovereignty, territory, domestic population, and critical infrastructure against external threats and aggression or other threats, as directed by the President of the US.

What is the role of the DOD in defense support of civil authorities operations?

The Defense Department currently defines defense support of civil authorities as “Support provided by U.S. Federal military forces, DOD civilians, DOD contract personnel, DOD Component assets, and National Guard forces (when the Secretary of Defense, in coordination with the Governors of the affected States, elects and …

What is the primary purpose of defense support of civil authority?

Defense Support of Civil Authorities (DSCA) is the process by which United States military assets and personnel can be used to assist in missions normally carried out by civil authorities.

What is DSCA in the military?

Defense Security Cooperation Agency (DSCA) DSCA directs, administers, and provides guidance to the DoD Components and DoD representatives to U.S. missions, for the execution of DoD SC programs for which DSCA has responsibility.

Who does DSCA report to?

The Director of the Defense Security Cooperation Agency (DSCA) reports to the USD(P) and administers and supervises the execution of all security cooperation programs for DoD. DSCA assigns Country Program Directors (CPDs) responsibility for all security cooperation activities for a country (or several countries).

What are the 5 core capabilities?

He identifies “five core capabilities” in organizations and systems: the capability to act, the capability to generate development results, the capability to relate, the capability to adapt and the capability to achieve coherence (Morgan, 2006, p. 8-19).

What are some of the core capabilities that support the missions and objectives?

Some of the core capabilities that support the Missions and Objectives mentioned in the Strategy for Homeland Defense and Defense Support of Civil Authorities (DSCA) is: Immediate Response Authority, Capable, Response maritime, [ and air defense forces, Postured, rapidly deployable CBRN response forces.

How many core capabilities are in the National Preparedness Goal?

32 Core Capabilities The core capabilities, established in the National Preparedness Goal, are referenced in many national preparedness efforts, including the National Planning Frameworks. The Goal groups the capabilities across the relevant five mission areas.

Which is an example of a core capability?

The Core Capabilities can be viewed as key areas of activity. Mass Care Services, for example, involves a broad array of activities including sheltering, feeding, hydration, mental and spiritual care, and others.

What are the five mission areas of FEMA?

Five Mission Areas 1 Prevention. Prevent, avoid or stop an imminent, threatened or actual act of terrorism. 2 Protection. Protect our citizens, residents, visitors, and assets against the greatest threats and hazards in a manner that allows our interests, aspirations and way of life to thrive. 3 Mitigation. 4 Response. 5 Recovery.