Menu Close

Is Krakatoa east or west of Java?

Is Krakatoa east or west of Java?

Krakatoa is actually located west, not east, of Java. The Batavia Queen appears to require at least three days to make the voyage from Anjer to Krakatoa.

What plate boundary is Krakatoa on?

Krakatoa lies along the convergence of the Indian-Australian and Eurasian tectonic plates, a zone of high volcanic and seismic activity.

What is the tectonic setting of Krakatau?

Tectonic Setting Krakatau is directly above the subduction zone where the Eurasian Plate and Indo-Australian Plate meet creating a strato-volcano chain. The plate boundaries make a sharp change of direction, possibility resulting in an unusually weak crust in the region.

What type of fault is Krakatoa on?

Krakatau is one of a several volcanic islands in the Sunda Straits located above an active north-northeast trending fault zone, an orientation quite distinct from the main island-arc trend.

Who wrote Krakatoa East of Java?

Bernard Gordon
Cliff Gould
Krakatoa, East of Java/Screenplay

Where is the Krakatoa located?


Is Krakatoa on the Ring of Fire?

Major volcanic events that have occurred within the Ring of Fire since 1800 included the eruptions of Mount Tambora (1815), Krakatoa (1883), Novarupta (1912), Mount Saint Helens (1980), Mount Ruiz (1985), and Mount Pinatubo (1991).

What did Krakatoa destroy?

An enormous blast on the afternoon of August 26 destroyed the northern two-thirds of the island; as it plunged into the Sunda Strait, between the Java Sea and Indian Ocean, the gushing mountain generated a series of pyroclastic flows (fast-moving fluid bodies of molten gas, ash and rock) and monstrous tsunamis that …

Is Krakatoa a supervolcano?

In 1927, a fourth island, Anak Krakatau, or “Child of Krakatoa”, emerged from the caldera formed in 1883. There has been new eruptive activity since the late 20th century, with a large collapse causing a deadly tsunami in December 2018….

Mountain type Caldera
Last eruption 2020

How many times has Krakatoa erupted?

Thornton mentions that Krakatoa was known as “The Fire Mountain” during Java’s Sailendra dynasty, with records of seven eruptive events between the 9th and 16th centuries. These have been tentatively dated as having occurred in 850, 950, 1050, 1150, 1320, and 1530.

What province is Krakatoa in?


Krakatoa, or Krakatau, is a caldera situated in the Sunda Strait between the islands of Java and Sumatra in the Indonesian province of Lampung.

What kind of plate boundary does Krakatoa have?

Krakatoa is a volcano in Indonesia that lies at the convergent boundary between the Eurasian and Indo-Australian tectonic plates.

Where was the volcano Krakatoa located in Indonesia?

Indonesia: Volcanoes. >Krakatoa (Krakatau), situated in the Sunda Strait between Sumatra and Java, which erupted disastrously in 1883. All life on the surrounding island group was destroyed.

How did the weather change after the eruption of Krakatoa?

In the year following the 1883 Krakatoa eruption, average Northern Hemisphere summer temperatures fell by as much as 1.2 °C (2.2 °F). Weather patterns continued to be chaotic for years, and temperatures did not return to normal until 1888.

How tall is the caldera of Krakatoa in feet?

Portions of the caldera projected above the water as four small islands: Sertung (Verlaten) on the northwest, Lang and Polish Hat on the northeast, and Rakata on the south. Over the years, three new cones were formed, merging into a single island. The highest of the three cones rose to 2,667 feet (813 metres) above sea level.